Schloss Niederweiden

Castle

This business is excellent…

  • Niederösterreich-CARD

Description

The former hunting lodge of Prince Eugene and Maria Theresa is only three kilometres away from Schloss Hof and a genuine insider’s tip. It radiates a unique fascination of its own, with all the charm of a French chateau de plaisier. Delicate Chinese murals adorn the walls of the banqueting hall, meanwhile, the authentically furnished Game Kitchen awaits with rustic Baroque cosiness and intimacy. Annually changing special exhibitions take place from mid-March to mid-November.

As preventive measure to contain infections through the Corona virus (Covid.19), Schloss Hof Estate and Schloss Niederweiden) will be closed for guests until 13 April 2020!

SCHLOSS NIEDERWEIDEN

The former hunting lodge of Prince Eugene and Maria Theresa is only three kilometres away from Schloss Hof and a genuine insider’s tip. It radiates a unique fascination of its own, with all the charm of a French chateau de plaisier. Delicate Chinese murals adorn the walls of the banqueting hall, meanwhile, the authentically furnished Game Kitchen awaits with rustic Baroque cosiness and intimacy. Annually changing special exhibitions take place from mid-March to mid-November.

Prince Eugene of Savoy’s private residential jewel

Ernst Rüdiger Count von Starhemberg commissioned Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach around 1693 to design a small hunting lodge. In 1726 Prince Eugene of Savoy purchased Schloss Niederweiden and commissioned a spacious garden to be laid out east of the building. This rococo-type garden already manifests the new trend in horticultural design: whereas Schloss Hof embodies the strict symmetry of the Baroque era, here playful irregularities are a formative principle of the planning.

Remodelling under Maria Theresa
Maria Theresa purchased Schloss Niedeerweiden and Schloss Hof from Prince Eugene’s heirs in 1755 and presented it to her spouse as a gift. In 1765 she commissioned Nikolaus von Pacassi to remodel the building. The oval hall with its new domed ceiling was adorned with illusionistic murals by Jean-Baptiste Pillement, with their motifs of exotic plants, birds and Oriental-type musicians. Today Schloss Niederweiden is used as permanent venue for exhibitions. Also a must-see is the annexed Baroque Game Kitchen with historically authentic furnishings and equipment. The Schloss Niederweiden patisserie is open during the exhibition season daily from 10 am to 6 pm.

SISI - TEMPORARY EXHIBITION | - 20 November 2020, daily 10 am-6 pm
Sisi - Woman and Empress

At Schloss Niederweiden which is part of Schloss Hof Estate showpieces from the Empress Elisabeth Collection will be presented in ten themed sections at. This extraordinary woman is still surrounded by mystery, and the exhibition will showcase objects that have never previously been displayed in public as well as the results of latest research.

Daily FREE-FARE SHUTTLE BUS: Marchegg Station - Schloss Hof - Schloss Niederweiden
Timetable: www.schlosshof.at, menu item: How To Get There

 

Prices

Facility features

  • Toilet facility
  • Café in the establishment
  • Tours
  • Wheelchair accessible toilet facility
  • Suitable for bad weather
  • Shop
We speak ...
  • English
  • Slovakian
  • German

Location and how to get there