Weinland Niederösterreich, © Robert Herbst

The eight wine growing regions

Lower Austria - the largest wine region on the Danube!

With its 27,000 ha of vineyards, Lower Austria grows more wine than any other province in Austria. The name covers a rich potential of wine provenances and wine styles of rare domestic wines but also international varieties. The eight specific winegrowing regions located in Lower Austria have sonorous names ranging from Wachau in the west to Carnuntum in the east. They can be roughly divided into three climatic zones: the Weinviertel in the north, the Danube region with the valleys of its tributaries west of Vienna and Pannonian Lower Austria to the southeast.

A major winegrowing province along the Danube

Spring in the Wachau, © Andreas Hofer


Continue reading
Heidentor, Carnuntum, © Andreas Hofer


Continue reading
The Genussmeile, © Wienerwald Tourismus/Raimo Rumpler

Thermenregion Vienna Woods

Continue reading
wine cellar lane Wartberg, © Weinviertel Tourismus/Robert Herbst


Continue reading